ALC201: Looking For Love Online

ALC201, Module 2 Exercise

 

 

Reflection

In my video I have attempted to explain and argue the reasons why online dating has become increasingly accepted by society. I decided to focus on the rise in the number of older people using online dating. Gays and online dating being accessible to a wider audience, and, mobile applications and how they make online dating convenient.

My video is an attempt to use the conventions of speech style writing and convert them into an online format. Because of this, I chose to film myself talking about my chosen topic. I also decided to include a couple screenshots of websites in order to provide a wider context for my argument.

In order to make my video more engaging I also chose to use Creative Commons material. I decided to use Flickr for my opening image. The image is a direct reference to my argument about online dating moving to mobile technologies and I believe it helps set the scene for what the video will be about. I have also chosen to use Creative Commons music for the entirety of my video. I chose to do this because I believe it helps set a scholarly tone and mood for the video.

Before I created my video I read several articles about online dating as well as searching through various scholarly texts and articles. I used the chapter: “Shopping for love: online dating and the making of a cyber culture of romance,” by DeMasi as the foundation for making my video and also in the search of further research. I also used several studies to form the basis of my argument as I feel they provide solid evidence of the rise in popularity of online dating. For my argument about online dating being important for the gay population I used: “From the Web Comes a Man,” by Mowlabocus. In this book Mowlabocus focuses on one of the most important online dating websites for gays, I feel he also explained well why gay populations use online dating.

In order to make my video I used the program Adobe Premiere Elements. Having only used the program on one previous occasion I had to play around with various settings to figure out how the program worked. In order to place screenshots within the video I also viewed a tutorial from the program which showed me how to insert images over a video clip.

Because my film was so heavy with talking, filming was problematic. I also attempted to talk directly to the camera and not look at my notes. I believe this attempt made my film a little more personal than it would have been, however, it also meant that I filmed the video is small snippets, some of which do not match up as the light changed the room throughout the filming. I tried to combat this by changing the lighting settings of individual clips and I think this helped.

The rest of the creation of the film was relatively simple. Placing the clips in the program, cutting them and arranging them was a simple process.  Similarly exporting the film was easy with various saving options available.

I used my Google account to upload my finished product to YouTube, a process which was relatively short even though I have never done it before.

Through completing this exercise I learnt what a simple process making a video and distributing it online can be. I also discovered more about the work and planning that needs to go into creating this a video and of how much you can present in a certain amount of time. However, I feel the most beneficial thing I learnt was how to enrich videos through the use of creative commons music and images.

 

References
Arndt, B, 2014, Love across the ages in online dating, The Age, February 18, retrieved September 1, 2014, <http://www.theage.com.au/national/love-across-the-ages-in-online-dating-20140217-32w6a.html&gt;

DeMasi, S 2011, ‘Shopping for love: online dating and the making of a cyber culture of romance’, in Seidman, S and Meeks, C (eds.), Introducing the New Sexuality Studies, Routledge, Abingdon and New York, pp. 206-13

Kang, T and Hoffman, L, 2011, ‘Why Would You Decide to Use an Online Dating Site? Factors That Lead to Online Dating’, Communication Research Reports, 28, 3, pp. 205-213, Communication & Mass Media Complete, EBSCOhost, viewed 30 August 2014.

Quiroz, P, 2013, ‘From Finding the Perfect Love Online to Satellite Dating and ‘Loving-the-One-You’re Near’: A Look at Grindr, Skout, Plenty of Fish, Meet Moi, Zoosk and Assisted Serendipity’, Humanity & Society, 37, 2, p. 181, Publisher Provided Full Text Searching File, EBSCOhost, viewed 29 August 2014.

Mowlabocus, S, 2010, “From the Web Comes a Man’: Profiles, Identity and Embodiment in Gay Dating/Sex Websites.” Gaydar Culture : Gay Men, Technology And Embodiment In The Digital Age, Farnham, Surrey, England: Ashgate, eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), EBSCOhost, viewed 30 August 2014.

Stephure, R, Boon, S, MacKinnon, S, and Deveau, V 2009, ‘Internet Initiated Relationships: Associations Between Age and Involvement in Online Dating’, Journal Of Computer-Mediated Communication, 14, 3, pp. 658-681, Communication & Mass Media Complete, EBSCOhost, viewed 30 August 2014.

Thomas, 2014, online dating, used with Creative Commons Permission, <https://flic.kr/p/oeqpYE&gt;, retrieved September 1, 2014.

Song used with Creative Commons permission, Son Lux, <http://freemusicarchive.org/music/son_lux/deximer/06_enough_of_our_machines_johnny_ripper_remix&gt;, retrieved September 4, 2014.

http://www.gaydar.net/, accessed Sepetember 4, 2014.

http://www.rsvp.com.au/, accessed Sepetember 4, 2014.

Leave a Reply

